Page 0034

34 English Bridge December 2016 www.ebu.co.uk

Things would be simpler if everyone called the TD,

as they are required to, whenever there is an

infraction! That way you all know your rights and

responsibilities before making decisions, rather

than the players making their own rulings and

maybe deciding they have been hard done by!

If the opening lead out of turn was faced, declarer

has five options to exercise, so you really do need

someone to tell you what they are before you make

a decision:

1. You can accept the lead and put your own hand

down as dummy, making your partner play the

contract.

2. You can accept the lead and play the contract

yourself, with dummy being put down

immediately but play to the first trick proceeding

clockwise as usual.

3. You can reject the lead and allow the correct

defender to lead anything, with the incorrect lead

remaining on the table as a major penalty card,

subject to the usual restrictions.

4. You can reject the lead and prohibit the lead of a

card of the suit of the incorrect lead, in which

case the incorrect lead gets picked up and goes

back in the hand of the player; this prohibition

continues until the opening leader has lost the

lead.

5. You can reject the lead and insist on the lead of a

card of the suit of the incorrect lead, in which

case the incorrect lead gets picked up and goes

back in the hand of the player.

However, if you managed to stop the wrong

defender from leading before the card was seen by

their partner, play could proceed as normal.

When in doubt, call the director!

Revokes, hesitations & lost cards

by Gordon Rainsford, Egordon@ebu.co.ukent Director

Email your questions to Gordon Rainsford at gordon@ebu.co.uk

Gordon, English Bridge and the EBU are not responsible if the information provided is incorrect or incomplete.

Ask GordonAsk Gordon

click

link

B

ernice Bailey wrote, 'Recently the wrong

person made the opening lead. I was

playing the contract and it should have

been this person's partner on my left. I realised

and said, 'It's not your lead', and they took the card

back. It had not been placed on the table, but I did

see what it was. Their partner then made an

opening lead. My partner objected and called the

director. I made the contract, but my partner still

felt we should have had a penalty point.'

MARTIN Epstein asked, 'West opened one spade,

my partner, after a slight hesitation, passed, East

went two spades and I, non-vulnerable with six

points and with a shortage in spades, 2434,

doubled, getting a good score. Like many players

nowadays, I hate to pass a 1-2 bid, knowing my

partner must have a few points and would always

double, but should I have passed after my

partner's slight hesitation?'

Law 73C. When a player has available to him

unauthorized information from his partner, such as

from a remark, question, explanation, gesture,

mannerism, undue emphasis, inflection, haste or

hesitation, an unexpected alert or failure to alert, he

must carefully avoid taking any advantage from that

unauthorized information.

I don't think you have done this but I would

expect to disallow your double under Law 16B1:

(a) After a player makes available to his partner

extraneous information that may suggest a call or

play, as for example by a remark, a question, a reply

to a question, an unexpected alert or failure to alert,

or by unmistakable hesitation, unwonted speed,

special emphasis, tone, gesture, movement, or

mannerism, the partner may not choose from among

logical alternatives one that could demonstrably have

been suggested over another by the extraneous

information.

(b) A logical alternative action is one that, among the

class of players in question and using the methods of

the partnership, would be given serious consideration

Index

  1. Page 0001
  2. Page 0002
  3. Page 0003
  4. Page 0004
  5. Page 0005
  6. Page 0006
  7. Page 0007
  8. Page 0008
  9. Page 0009
  10. Page 0010
  11. Page 0011
  12. Page 0012
  13. Page 0013
  14. Page 0014
  15. Page 0015
  16. Page 0016
  17. Page 0017
  18. Page 0018
  19. Page 0019
  20. Page 0020
  21. Page 0021
  22. Page 0022
  23. Page 0023
  24. Page 0024
  25. Page 0025
  26. Page 0026
  27. Page 0027
  28. Page 0028
  29. Page 0029
  30. Page 0030
  31. Page 0031
  32. Page 0032
  33. Page 0033
  34. Page 0034
  35. Page 0035
  36. Page 0036
  37. Page 0037
  38. Page 0038
  39. Page 0039
  40. Page 0040
  41. Page 0041
  42. Page 0042
  43. Page 0043
  44. Page 0044
  45. Page 0045
  46. Page 0046
  47. Page 0047
  48. Page 0048
  49. Page 0049
  50. Page 0050
  51. Page 0051
  52. Page 0052
  53. Page 0053
  54. Page 0054
  55. Page 0055
  56. Page 0056
  57. Page 0057
  58. Page 0058
  59. Page 0059
  60. Page 0060
  61. Page 0061
  62. Page 0062
  63. Page 0063
  64. Page 0064
  65. Page 0065
  66. Page 0066
  67. Page 0067
  68. Page 0068
  69. Page 0069
  70. Page 0070

powered by PageTiger