Page 0066

66 English Bridge February 2016 www.ebu.co.uk

Ask Gordon - more from page 43

Ask Gordon - more from page 43

IAN DEAN WONDERED

I was playing in our club's regular duplicate session.

The bidding - only by our side - was 1´-2t-2´pass;

so I was declarer in 2´. After about two

uneventful rounds there was a bit of a distraction

on an adjacent table, which held us up for a

moment.

Having won the previous trick it was my turn to

lead but I could not remember for sure whether we

were in two spades or three spades so I looked at my

score card to check. One of our opponents objected

strongly to this and called the director who, to my

surprise, agreed with the complainer that I was not

allowed to look at my card for any reason. I feel that

such a prohibition is illogical. Could you please

confirm whether or not it does exist (the Rulebook

is unclear on this) and if so, why? On this occasion

the director imposed no penalty other than to say

that I should not do so again.

As noted in my reply to another question on page

43, you are allowed to ask what the contract is at

any time, but not what the auction was once you

have played to the first trick from dummy.

However there is also the following in the Laws:

L40C3. (a) Unless permitted by the Regulating

Authority a player is not entitled during the

auction and play periods to any aids to his

memory, calculation or technique.

So I think you would be safer to ask what the

contract is, rather than risk having your opponents

imagine that you might be looking at your

scorecard for any other reason!

Additionally it's worth noting that the club itself

is the Regulating Authority for its games, so it

could if it wished make a regulation to allow this.

JERRY ANSTEAD ASKED

What should the director rule here?

Declarer was in 5t. A heart was led and dummy

went down with a 5-0-2-5 distribution. No one

noticed that this was 12 cards. Declarer discarded

allowing RHO's ™A to win trick one, thus

promoting her own ™K. She took the diamond

return and ruffed a heart in dummy. After eight

tricks had been played dummy straightened his

cards and out popped the queen of hearts.

Neither I - a basic level club director - nor a

county director I later consulted, could find

anything in the rulebook which appeared to cover

this situation. What should the TD's ruling be?

Here's the relevant law:

14B. Hand Found Deficient Afterwards

When one or more hand(s) is/are found to

contain fewer than 13 cards, with no hand having

more than 13, at any time after the opening lead is

faced (until the end of the Correction Period), the

Director makes a search for any missing card, and:

1. if the card is found among the played cards,

Law 67 applies.

2. if the card is found elsewhere, it is restored to

the deficient hand. Rectification and/or penalties

may apply (see 4 following).

3. if the card cannot be found, the deal is

reconstructed using another pack. Rectification

and/or penalties may apply (see 4 following).

4. a card restored to a hand under the provisions

of Section B of this Law is deemed to have belonged

continuously to the deficient hand. It may become

a penalty card (Law 50), and failure to have played

it may constitute a revoke.

So dummy revoked on the first trick. However,

Law 64B3 tells us there is no rectification for such

a revoke and we go to Law 64C to see if we need to

adjust in equity.

From your description, it doesn't seem as though

the number of tricks would have been any different

if dummy had played the ™Q on the first round, so

there would be no adjustment. If in fact declarer

would have made fewer tricks without the revoke,

then you would adjust accordingly. r

Index

  1. Page 0066
  2. Page 0066
  3. Page 0066
  4. Page 0066
  5. Page 0066
  6. Page 0066
  7. Page 0066
  8. Page 0066
  9. Page 0066
  10. Page 0066
  11. Page 0066
  12. Page 0066
  13. Page 0066
  14. Page 0066
  15. Page 0066
  16. Page 0066
  17. Page 0066
  18. Page 0066
  19. Page 0066
  20. Page 0066
  21. Page 0066
  22. Page 0066
  23. Page 0066
  24. Page 0066
  25. Page 0066
  26. Page 0066
  27. Page 0066
  28. Page 0066
  29. Page 0066
  30. Page 0066
  31. Page 0066
  32. Page 0066
  33. Page 0066
  34. Page 0066
  35. Page 0066
  36. Page 0066
  37. Page 0066
  38. Page 0066
  39. Page 0066
  40. Page 0066
  41. Page 0066
  42. Page 0066
  43. Page 0066
  44. Page 0066
  45. Page 0066
  46. Page 0066
  47. Page 0066
  48. Page 0066
  49. Page 0066
  50. Page 0066
  51. Page 0066
  52. Page 0066
  53. Page 0066
  54. Page 0066
  55. Page 0066
  56. Page 0066
  57. Page 0066
  58. Page 0066
  59. Page 0066
  60. Page 0066
  61. Page 0066
  62. Page 0066
  63. Page 0066
  64. Page 0066
  65. Page 0066
  66. Page 0066
  67. Page 0066
  68. Page 0066
  69. Page 0066
  70. Page 0066
  71. Page 0066
  72. Page 0066
  73. Page 0066
  74. Page 0066
  75. Page 0066
  76. Page 0066
  77. Page 0066
  78. Page 0066

powered by PageTiger