Page 0012

12 English Bridge April 2016 www.ebu.co.uk

She was correct up to the end of your first

paragraph. The 'win a trick with a card that could

have been played to the revoke trick' no longer

applies. The question now is simply whether or not

the revoke card won the revoke trick. However

when it comes to considering whether you deserve

an adjustment in equity it is irrelevant what

happened at other tables - all that matters is what

would have happened at your table without the

revoke. So I suspect she gave the right answer there

too, but not for the reason you have given.

Law 58a says 'A lead or play made simultaneously

with another player's legal lead or play is deemed to

be subsequent to it.' So I think you should rule that

RHO played first, LHO created a major penalty card

with the ™8, and the ´9 was played (prematurely) to

the trick. LHO's penalty card needs to be played at

the first legal opportunity, but if RHO gains (or

retains) the lead before it's been played, then

declarer has the option to insist on, or prohibit, a

heart lead - in which case the ™8 will cease to be a

penalty card. If declarer allows any lead the ™8

remains a penalty card.

It is correct to score an unplayed board by using

Law 12 to award AV/AV-/AV+ according to

responsibility for the delay. It is not lawful to use the

Not Played function (which effectively awards both

sides their session score for the unplayed board)

when a board is removed due to slow play.

The two occasions when it is appropriate to mark

a board as Not Played are (temporarily) when you

have designated a board to be played later on, or

when you have changed the movement for everyone

to shorten one or more rounds by one board.

So when you have to take away a board due to

slow play, you are correct to score it as AV if both

pairs are partly at fault, but you should investigate

the cause of the slowness and on some occasions it

might well be right to award AV+/AV- or even AV/AV-.

You should never score it as Not Played in

these circumstances. r

PETER Jackson wrote, 'Defending a hand at my

local club, partner led a small trump, dummy

followed with a trump, declarer threw away a loser

and I took the trick with the ace, my last trump.

The next trick declarer trumped my lead. The

revoke was established. The director ruled a one

trick penalty (later they had made another trick).

I suggested it might be two as his last trump rather

than the revoke card made a trick.

She said she would review the decision to see if

we had been disadvantaged at the end of play.

Analysis of the result showed another pair had the

same score as us and therefore she could not give

us an extra trick because we would then be

outright winners on that board. Was she right?'

DAVID Wilson said, 'Hull BC is moving into the

21st century and has purchased Bridgemates. I

notice that we can score a board as Not Played.

Rightly or wrongly we have always scored an

unplayed board (eg when a table has run out of

time) as average for both pairs. However it seems

to be more sensible if scored as Unplayed.

Obviously if someone is culpable then we can give

A- (and A+ to innocent players).

Is there any EBU guidance as to whether we

should use Unplayed as opposed to Average as it

obviously makes a difference to a person's score.'

DAVE Edwards asked, 'Part-way through a hand,

declarer's RHO, on lead, puts ´10 on the table.

Thinking it was his lead, LHO puts ™8 down, then

realises it was not his turn and puts ´9 down too

and I get called. Declarer and dummy agreed there

was a split-second between RHO and LHO

playing a card but didn't agree which was first.

Opponents didn't know.'

Revokes, leads and unplayed

by Gordon Rainsford, Egordon@ebu.co.ukent Director

Email your questions to Gordon Rainsford at gordon@ebu.co.uk

Gordon, English Bridge and the EBU are not responsible if the information provided is incorrect or incomplete.

Ask GordonAsk Gordon

click

link

Index

  1. Page 0001
  2. Page 0002
  3. Page 0003
  4. Page 0004
  5. Page 0005
  6. Page 0006
  7. Page 0007
  8. Page 0008
  9. Page 0009
  10. Page 0010
  11. Page 0011
  12. Page 0012
  13. Page 0013
  14. Page 0014
  15. Page 0015
  16. Page 0016
  17. Page 0017
  18. Page 0018
  19. Page 0019
  20. Page 0020
  21. Page 0021
  22. Page 0022
  23. Page 0023
  24. Page 0024
  25. Page 0025
  26. Page 0026
  27. Page 0027
  28. Page 0028
  29. Page 0029
  30. Page 0030
  31. Page 0031
  32. Page 0032
  33. Page 0033
  34. Page 0034
  35. Page 0035
  36. Page 0036
  37. Page 0037
  38. Page 0038
  39. Page 0039
  40. Page 0022
  41. Page 0041
  42. Page 0042
  43. Page 0043
  44. Page 0044
  45. Page 0045
  46. Page 0046
  47. Page 0047
  48. Page 0048
  49. Page 0049
  50. Page 0050
  51. Page 0051
  52. Page 0052
  53. Page 0053
  54. Page 0054
  55. Page 0055
  56. Page 0056
  57. Page 0057
  58. Page 0058
  59. Page 0059
  60. Page 0060
  61. Page 0061
  62. Page 0062
  63. Page 0063
  64. Page 0064
  65. Page 0065
  66. Page 0066
  67. Page 0067
  68. Page 0068
  69. Page 0069
  70. Page 0070
  71. Page 0071
  72. Page 0072

powered by PageTiger