Page 0011

Pete Tedde, Employment Support Coach

When did you start working for Ongo?

I started in December 2016. I had previously worked on the

Empowering Project in 2012 which was based around supporting

current and ex-offenders into employment, housing and training.

I've also previously worked in supported housing, and as a welder/

fabricator for four years.

I love this job and I've learnt a great deal from it both

personally and professionally. I've had some amazing

training opportunities, and I've been fortunate to gain some

qualifications that I might not have had the chance to do

elsewhere.

What does your role involve?

The main focus is on employment and training to meet the

needs of as many clients as possible.

We also provide careers advice and guidance, writing and

updating CV's, job applications, interview and in-work support,

plus counselling and life coaching.

We do lots of distance learning courses, and we can also support people to maximise their

finances through funding applications.

What is your favourite part of the job?

Spending time getting to know a client and watching them grow. It's something that's

inspired me from day one and still motivates me to this day.

I watch our whole team complete some truly inspirational work with clients every day,

and it's a pleasure to be able to help people in some way.

How has your role changed during the COVID-19 situation?

It changed in the sense that we offered support through telephone calls and digital

means to begin with, but we were then able to offer some face-to-face appointments.

It's been a blessing to work closely alongside our other teams in order to best

support a client. Many of my colleagues have been completing safe and well calls,

plus attending The Arc to pack and deliver food parcels for tenants. Personally, I've just tried to

do the best that I possibly can in order to best support my clients who need it the most.

About me:

What is the main lesson that lockdown has taught you?

To never take my loved ones for granted.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

I enjoy walking - I've previously completed some walking events for charity across Italy and the Peak District. I also like to

wild camp especially after a busy week at work. Other than that, I enjoy watching old re-runs of boxing classics.

11

Pete

A day in the life of...

Pete's view on a walk

Index

  1. Page 0001
  2. Page 0002
  3. Page 0003
  4. Page 0004
  5. Page 0005
  6. Page 0006
  7. Page 0007
  8. Page 0008
  9. Page 0009
  10. Page 0010
  11. Page 0011
  12. Page 0012
  13. Page 0013
  14. Page 0014
  15. Page 0015
  16. Page 0016
  17. Page 0017
  18. Page 0018
  19. Page 0019
  20. Page 0020
  21. Page 0021
  22. Page 0022
  23. Page 0023
  24. Page 0024
  25. Page 0025
  26. Page 0026
  27. Page 0027
  28. Page 0028

Related Issues