Page 0048

was won by Carol and Albert Brown, Ian Diane Rogers has joined the committee. and Minutes Secretary), Treasurer Henry

Landmark Master Murray-Watson, Pat Jenkins, Steve Booth Please note that the 25th July green- Cooklin, General Secretary Robert North-

Point Promotions and Chris Chowney; Division 2 by Sue

and Derrick Munday, John Crowe, Judy

pointed event has been cancelled. This

one-day green-pointed licence has been

age, League Secretary John Thompson,

Tournament Secretary Pat Watson, Fix-

Eaton, Barry Taylor and Naomi Lacey. successfully transferred to the Kent Con- tures Secretary Dick Pathan, Member-

Master The Restricted Divi sion was won by gress at the end of October. ship Secretary Pat Beasley.

Mr N Edmondson Gordan and Sue Young, and Steve and Diary Date: 51st Kent Congress, Oct Dick Pathan was elected a Life

Mrs M Edwards Di Martin. Entries for these events in 30-31, Tunbridge Wells; Saturday: Swiss Member of the LCBA in recognition of

2010-2011 will be invited in August or Pairs 1pm. Sunday: Green Pointed Swiss over forty years of outstanding service to

Mrs J Hunter September – the draw and first round of Teams 11am. the Association, both as a player and

Mrs S White the KO will be held at Ledbury on Friday officer of the committee in various roles.

October 8th. John Mount presented the trophies to

Herts Diary Dates: Sept 10, HBA AGM,


the 2009-10 competition winners. These

Grand Master 7pm, Larrupurz Centre Ross-on-Wye. included: Stanley Trophy (Butler Pairs

Mrs J Davies Saturday Sept 25, HBA and GCBA AT the Annual General Championship), Ian Bruce – Mick

Green Point Swiss Pairs, 1pm; Sunday Meeting in May, Mr. J. A. Mahoney; Joseph’s Bowl (Teams of Four

Life Master Sept 26, HBA and GCBA Green Point Smith was elected the new KO), Tony Odams, Duncan Happer, Jim

Dr J Howes Swiss Teams, 11am; both at the Chairman of the Lancashire Mason and Paul Bowyer; Butterworth

Regional Master Larruperz Centre, Ross-on-Wye. Contract Bridge Association. Trophy (for first-round losers in the

Mr C Holehouse Congratulations go to Nick and Sue Joseph’s Bowl), Peter Nuttall, Sylvia

Kent Woodcock, Andrew Woodcock and Horn, Terry Hyde and Stan Williams;

Mr G Lacey Catherine Draper on winning the LCBA Gimson Trophy Final (Pairs Champion-

Mr M R Levy Knock-out Teams of Four. ship), Duncan Happer – Kerri Nash;

Ms J Mumford KENT has had a great In the first round of the Northern Leicestershire Cup, Susan and Paul

competition season. Mal- Bridge League, Lancashire A finished 4th Bowyer, Tony Odams, Jim Mason and

Master out of five teams, Lancashire B 4th out Simon Stokes (the corresponding plate

colm Lewis and Patrick

Mrs LV Belch Collins were in the Eng- of eight teams and Lancashire C 3rd out competition was won by John Mount,

Mr M Futerman land team that won the of eight teams. Audrey Mount, Mary France, Pam Smith

Mr M Pearce Seniors Camrose. The Doyle Cup Swiss Teams: 1. Andrew and David Twells).

Gerard Faulkner Salver (National Seniors Petrie, Giles Foster, Bill Alston and Colin Early Midlands League county

Mr R Pearce

Knock-out Competition) was won by Mitchell. Madeline Berney Swiss Pairs: results for this season are: May 16th vs

Mrs N A Reynolds the team captained by Peter Law and 1. Catherine Draper – Dave Debbage. Worcestershire, 1st team won 12-8, 2nd

Mr B Veal included Patrick Collins and John Blackburn Swiss Pairs: 1. Jeff Smith – team won 19-1, 3rd team won 19-1;

Short. The team played in memory of Jackie Pye. Bolton Bank Holiday Swiss June 20 vs Nottinghamshire, 1st team

Isle Of Man Teams: 1. John Morrell, Marianne Farr, won 13-7, 2nd team lost 4-16, 3rd team

their late captain, Dennis O’Donovan.

Master The Pachabo Cup has been won by our Steve Haley and Hilda Williams. won 16-4.

Ms E J Kelly Kent Champions (photo below), Jeremy Diary Dates: Aug 8, Preston Pairs, Diary Dates: Sept 5, Midland League

Willans, Ian Draper, Stuart and Gerald Preston. Aug 28, Northern Bridge v Oxfordshire (away). Sept 15, Stanley

Kent Tredinnick. Congratulations to Norman League, Round 3. Sept 3-5, Bolton Trophy Round 1, Glenfield. Sept 25,

Inniss, Stefan Syplywczak Keith Ashcroft Congress, Bolton Bridge Club. Sept 9-12, Green Point Swiss Pairs, Spondon. Sept

Regional Master Isle of Man Congress, Douglas. Sept 19, 26, Green Point Swiss Teams, Spondon.

and Phil Jones winners of the Canterbury

Mrs J Batson Green-pointed Swiss Teams One Day LCBA Mixed Pairs, Bolton Bridge Club. Sept 29, Otto & Edith Bowl Mixed Pairs,

Mr AE Boyer Event. The Jersey Congress Swiss Teams County BC. Oct 10, Midland League v

Mrs C Cadiz was won by Jill Skinner (captain), Leicestershire Derbyshire, Rothley Centre.

Mr CC Parker Gwyneth Davies, Ian Draper and

Jeremy Willans. The Mid-week Pairs

Master Lincolnshire

Championship was won by Colin THE 2010 AGM was

Mr J S Chapman Wilson – Diana Avis. Many held on June 16. The

Mrs SM Cox congratulations to everyone. committee reports were THE Annual Champion-

At the AGM in June, Geoff Smith heard and adopted. ships were held in April:

Mrs F Diggens

retired as Treasurer and became Vice- The new LCBA consti- Pairs Final: Drene and

Dr J D McGuinness Chairman. David Anning is our new tution was adopted by the membership. Alan Brown; Consolation:

Mrs Pamela Watson Treasurer. Malcolm Lewis retired by rota- The committee has been returned un- Alan Andrews – Harry

Mr M E Webb tion and has been re-elected Secretary. opposed: Chairman Nick Stevens, Vice- Coates; Open: Stuart Knox – David

John Cullingworth has resigned and chairman John Wilcox (also Webmaster Caldow; Lucy Osbourne Cup (highest

Lancashire placed senior pair): Drene and Alan

Master Brown; Margaret Briggs Plate (best im-

provers): Bill and Eileen Barker; Teams

Mrs D J Ault

Final: Mo Parsons, Maurice Ladlow, Ron

Mrs J C Schofield Wall, Brian Smith; Consolation: Vic and

Leicester Mike Llewellyn, Glynn Elwick, Stuart

Watson; Open: Elaine Proctor, Maurice

Master Lynn, Ron Moss, Geoff Shaw.

Mrs A E Bowness Lincoln Gold: 1. Maurice Ladlow, Mo

Mr B P Holownia Parsons, Dennis Mellor, John Gaunt;

2. Alan and Drene Brown, Mike Perry,

Mr R Kilvington Nick Dyer. Veterans’ Cup winners were

Ms M Sperrings Mo Parsons – Maurice Ladlow for the

Lincolnshire third year running. The Charles Heward

Trophy was won by Mary Milnes, Bill

Master Gibs, Joyce Gregory, Joan Robertson.

Mrs E Barker League Division 1: 1. Paul Wokes,

David Pettengell, John Brocklehurst,

London Tony Waine; League Division 2 or Davey

Grand Master Cup not known yet.

The new season’s calendar for 2010-

Prof J R Harper 2011 will be sent electronically to

Photo: Gill Pain

Life Master members via their clubs sometime in

Pachabo Cup winners: from the left, Gerald Tredinnick, Stuart Tredinnick,

Ms L Clery Ian Draper and Jeremy Willans from Kent, August.

Mr M Todd with EBU Vice-President David Harris (far right). The 2010-2011 officials will be listed

in next EBU magazine.

48 English Bridge August 2010


  1. Page 0001
  2. Page 0002
  3. Page 0003
  4. Page 0004
  5. Page 0005
  6. Page 0006
  7. Page 0007
  8. Page 0008
  9. Page 0009
  10. Page 0010
  11. Page 0011
  12. Page 0012
  13. Page 0013
  14. Page 0014
  15. Page 0015
  16. Page 0016
  17. Page 0017
  18. Page 0018
  19. Page 0019
  20. Page 0020
  21. Page 0021
  22. Page 0022
  23. Page 0023
  24. Page 0024
  25. Page 0025
  26. Page 0026
  27. Page 0027
  28. Page 0028
  29. Page 0029
  30. Page 0030
  31. Page 0031
  32. Page 0032
  33. Page 0033
  34. Page 0034
  35. Page 0035
  36. Page 0036
  37. Page 0037
  38. Page 0038
  39. Page 0039
  40. Page 0040
  41. Page 0041
  42. Page 0042
  43. Page 0043
  44. Page 0044
  45. Page 0045
  46. Page 0046
  47. Page 0047
  48. Page 0048
  49. Page 0049
  50. Page 0050
  51. Page 0051
  52. Page 0052
  53. Page 0053
  54. Page 0054
  55. Page 0055
  56. Page 0056