Page 0039

Ask Jeremy by Jeremy Dhondy

Matters of Conduct and Ethics

Email your questions to Jeremy Dhondy at jeremy@ebu.co.uk

or write to the editor, Elena Jeronimidis, at 23 Erleigh Road, Reading RG1 5LR.

Jeremy, English Bridge and the EBU are not responsible if the information in the letters is incorrect or incomplete.

affects your play is at your own risk. alerted.

RICHARD LARK asks: What should a No ranges are announced for any two-

player do when an opponent opens level natural opening (as you say), so it is

1NT announced as 12-14, which EDDIE LUCK asks: Recently I was criti- wrong to say ‘Weak, 4-8,’ for example. One

tallies with what is written on the con- cised by an opponent for announcing reason for this is that many players vary

vention card, but after the hand has an opening 2´ bid as ‘Intermediate’. two-level openings, especially when weak,

been played it transpires that opener On our system card it is explained as according to vulnerability and position. The

had only 11 points? Should the player ‘Intermediate (Natural) 9-12 (six-card idea of announcing is to give opponents an

ignore this since it is only one point suit)’ and flagged on the first section of approximate idea of the bid in question so

short or should he call the Director if the card ‘General Description of Bid- that they can ask or look at your card if they

his side may have been damaged? ding Methods’ in red as ‘Intermediate wish more specific detail. Typically, for ex-

2™/2´ (9-12)’. The opponent consid- ample, the exact range of a Weak Two

ered that describing a bid as ‘Inter- becomes relevant only when playing or

The announcement and detail on the mediate’ when the hand may only con- defending. It is wrong to assert that you

convention card is an explanation of your tain 9 points is misleading, and implied should include the range in your descrip-

opponents’ agreements. They do not that we were seeking some advantage in tion. The example in 5D2 of the Orange

undertake to stick to these. You are not doing so. A question was only raised Book makes it clear you should not.

entitled to any adjustment simply because before the opening lead was faced and The purpose of announcing is to draw

a player has departed from his side’s the convention card was not examined the opponents’ attention to your bid and

agreements. However, if a player opens a by either defender. in the specific case of your opening the

12-14 NT on an 11-count frequently, his It has been advised by senior fact that it is stronger than many Weak

partner must not act on this knowledge directors in the county that I should Two level openings would be.

by, for example, failing to raise to 2NT on also have ‘announced’ the range to I would announce your opening as ‘Weak

a marginal hand. In addition, the conven- make it clear that the hand could to Intermediate’ This should alert my

tion card should be altered. contain as few as 9 points. Looking at opponents to the fact that it is not typical

the ‘Alerting and Announcing Rules’ and alert them to the need to ask or consult

they make no mention of announcing the card for more detail. I think this

ANDREW BISSON asks: Are defenders ‘Intermediate’ 2™ or 2´ bids, possibly description says, in effect: ‘You might want

allowed to select a card and detach it implying that they should be ‘alerted’ to check further because it is not quite

from their hand before it is their turn in the category of ‘Other’. normal’. Personally I would volunteer the

to play? I thought that you were only I have no problem either alerting, or range if I or my partner ended up playing

allowed to select and play a card when announcing as ‘Intermediate’, or the hand, although you have no require-

it was your turn to play. announcing the range; I would just ment in law to do this last part. r

like a definitive ruling so that I can

ensure that I am fully complying with

If they are selecting or detaching a card the spirit and the letter of the rules. CORRECTION

before it is their turn to play, then they are Can you clarify this issue please?

in breach of Law 74 (Conduct and Eti- In February I was asked about boards

being completed once started. I

quette). 74B says: ‘As a matter of courtesy

wrote that once a board was started

players should refrain from . . .’ If your opponents had a problem and it must be finished. Although this is

It then gives a number of options of believed they might have suffered damage true, it is also true that if the director

which one is: 3. Detaching a card before or that you might have done the wrong instructs a pair not to start a board

it is his turn to play thing, then they should have called the and they disobey him and start, then

The director is empowered to fine for a director to resolve matters and not the director may stop the board and

breach of this, although it would be normal engaged in personal criticism. cancel it. He may also, as I wrote,

to warn first before fining. There is no question that the opening award a disciplinary penalty. (JD)

However, any inference you draw that should have been announced and not

www.ebu.co.uk April 2013 English Bridge 39

Index

  1. Page 0001
  2. Page 0002
  3. Page 0003
  4. Page 0004
  5. Page 0005
  6. Page 0006
  7. Page 0007
  8. Page 0008
  9. Page 0009
  10. Page 0010
  11. Page 0011
  12. Page 0012
  13. Page 0013
  14. Page 0014
  15. Page 0015
  16. Page 0016
  17. Page 0017
  18. Page 0018
  19. Page 0019
  20. Page 0020
  21. Page 0021
  22. Page 0022
  23. Page 0023
  24. Page 0024
  25. Page 0025
  26. Page 0026
  27. Page 0027
  28. Page 0028
  29. Page 0029
  30. Page 0030
  31. Page 0031
  32. Page 0032
  33. Page 0033
  34. Page 0033
  35. Page 0035
  36. Page 0036
  37. Page 0037
  38. Page 0038
  39. Page 0039
  40. Page 0040
  41. Page 0041
  42. Page 0042
  43. Page 0043
  44. Page 0044
  45. Page 0045
  46. Page 0046
  47. Page 0047
  48. Page 0048
  49. Page 0049
  50. Page 0050
  51. Page 0051
  52. Page 0053
  53. Page 0053
  54. Page 0054
  55. Page 0055
  56. Page 0056