MIKE KAUFMAN wrote: I would be grateful if you
could clarify a point of procedure regarding an
insufficient bid. West opens 1´ and North bids
1™; West immediately says: 'Insufficient bid'.
My question is: who is able to draw attention to
the insufficient bid? Is it not up to the LHO and
then they decide whether to accept or refuse the
bid ? Or can anyone state 'insufficient bid'?
Anyone may draw attention to an infraction during
the auction period, after which the director should
be called. The director will then explain the
appropriate options and procedures, which will
include the option for East to accept the bid. Note
that stating a bid is insufficient neither accepts nor
rejects the bid - that is for the next-to-bid player to
do, having had the options explained by the TD.
SUSAN SHARP asks: I remember reading in the
Orange Book that the minimum a partnership
can agree to open at the one level is subject to
the Rule of 18. I thought that is what is meant
by a legal light opening bid and that anything
less is a psyche, and therefore should not be
used frequently enough to be a partnership un der
standing. But in Simon Cochemé's article
on psyches in the October EBU magazine, he
seems to say that anything is allowed as long as
it is clearly noted on the convention card. Can
you please clarify?
The current document containing these regulations
is the Blue Book, which superseded the Orange Book
a couple of years ago. For Level 4 the regulation says:
Strength of Opening One-level Bids: A one-level
June 2015 English Bridge
opening bid in a suit, whether forcing or not, must by
agreement show 8+ HCP and, in first and second
position, follow the Rule of 18. Natural 1NT opening
bids must show 9+ HCP. So it doesn't have to follow
the Rule of 18 in third or fourth position, but it does
need to show at least 8 points.
Psyches are always allowed provided they are not
fielded, but a psyche is defined as 'a deliberate and
gross misstatement of honour strength and/or of suit
length' so a minor deviation would not be con sidered
a psyche. Nor would an agreement to open
contrary to these regulations be considered a psyche
- it would be an illegal agreement and would be
treated as such.
ANDREW URBANSKI writes: If dummy is missorted
when put down at the beginning of the
play, such that a singleton heart is amongst the
diamonds and this is not noticed by anyone
until the fourth trick, what should the director
say and which law is applied if a) the defence
had had a chance to cash a heart trick and b)
they hadn't had the chance?
Obviously if dummy has revoked the normal revoke
laws apply, but otherwise we can adjust using Law
12A1 (which says: 'The Director may award an
adjusted score when he judges that these Laws do not
provide indemnity to a non-offending contestant for
the particular type of violation committed by an
opponent') for the breach of Law 41D' (which speci fies
how dummy's hand should be displayed).
We would be looking to adjust for damage, so we
would look at how the play actually went and seek
to adjust to what we think would have happened if
dummy had been put down properly. This might be
done using a weighted score. r
Insufficient Bidgordon@ebu.co.ukon Rainsford
Email your questions to Gordon Rainsford at firstname.lastname@example.org
Ask GordonAsk Gordon
Gordon, English Bridge and the EBU are not responsible if the information in the letters is incorrect or incomplete.