Page 0034

34 English Bridge June 2019 www.ebu.co.uk

There is no provision in law to change a played card

(except from dummy) unless there has been some

other infraction.

There are laws that allow a bid to be changed

(mechanical error) and a call of a card from dummy

to be changed (slip of the tongue), but not a change

of card played from a 'closed' hand; and in any case

there is no law that allows a change due to a change

of mind (or loss of concentration).

So declarer should not have been allowed to

change his card, and the question of information

arising from seeing defenders play does not arise.

Ask Robin Compiled by Robin Barker

click

link

Trouble at the table

R

ichard Denning asked two related

questions: I had a ruling made against me

at the table, which I reluctantly accepted,

but common sense suggests the ruling was

incorrect.

At trick 7, declarer called for a spade from

dummy. Declarer's RHO followed with the 5 and

declarer played the 7. I, as declarer's LHO, was

somewhat surprised to be able to make such a

cheap trick and played the jack. My partner and I,

and also dummy turned over our cards, while

declarer did not. I was considering my lead to the

next trick when declarer said, 'I didn't mean to

play that - I meant to play the king. I want to

change it for the king'. The director was called and

ruled that the change was allowed and I could

change my card to a lower one if I so wished.

Really? By playing the wrong card and then

changing her mind, declarer had discovered that I

did not have the 8, 9 or ten, but did have the jack.

That gave her considerable information about the

layout of not only that suit, but possibly of the

whole hand.

I feel sure this ruling isn't right. Surely it is as up

to declarer to concentrate on the game as it is for

the defence? T

he editor asks: I play 5 card majors and 2/1

irregularly with a couple of partners. Do I

alert a wide-ranging forcing 1NT

response, and do I alert a 2/1 response as being

game-forcing? I can't see it on the Alerting &

Announcements crib sheet, but someone who

plays it more regularly than me says I should.

I

f the same thing happened, but it went ™3

from dummy, ™5 from RHO, then declarer's

lack of concentration meant she revoked by

throwing away the ´7, (not playing a heart and

not trumping), and I won with ™J, then, as before,

declarer realised her mistake and wanted to play

the ™K, would that make a difference to the

ruling?

Both are alertable, see Blue Book 4H2. Game forcing

2/1 responses is 4H2 (c) (4). Wide-ranging NT

response is 4H2 (h).

4H2 Because they have a potentially unexpected

meaning, players must alert:

(c) Responses to a non-forcing opening bid of one of a

suit:

(4) A new suit without a jump that is forcing to game.

Subsequent natural bids below game (e.g. 2NT)

Yes. Declarer can change a card to correct a revoke;

and the defender who played after declarer can

change the card they played.

In this case, the card previously played by

defender is authorised information to defender's

partner but unauthorised to declarer. So declarer

should not be allowed to gain from the information,

and cannot try revoking to gain information.

Revoking to gain information is famously called

the Alcatraz Coup. In the past, the laws did not deal

well with this coup and so the remedy was more

draconian.

Index

  1. Page 0001
  2. Page 0002
  3. Page 0003
  4. Page 0004
  5. Page 0005
  6. Page 0006
  7. Page 0007
  8. Page 0008
  9. Page 0009
  10. Page 0010
  11. Page 0011
  12. Page 0012
  13. Page 0013
  14. Page 0014
  15. Page 0015
  16. Page 0016
  17. Page 0017
  18. Page 0018
  19. Page 0019
  20. Page 0020
  21. Page 0021
  22. Page 0022
  23. Page 0023
  24. Page 0024
  25. Page 0025
  26. Page 0026
  27. Page 0027
  28. Page 0028
  29. Page 0029
  30. Page 0030
  31. Page 0031
  32. Page 0032
  33. Page 0033
  34. Page 0034
  35. Page 0035
  36. Page 0036
  37. Page 0037
  38. Page 0038
  39. Page 0039
  40. Page 0040
  41. Page 0041
  42. Page 0042
  43. Page 0043
  44. Page 0044
  45. Page 0045
  46. Page 0046
  47. Page 0047
  48. Page 0048
  49. Page 0049
  50. Page 0050
  51. Page 0051
  52. Page 0052
  53. Page 0053
  54. Page 0054
  55. Page 0055
  56. Page 0056
  57. Page 0057
  58. Page 0058
  59. Page 0059
  60. Page 0060
  61. Page 0061
  62. Page 0062
  63. Page 0063
  64. Page 0064
  65. Page 0065
  66. Page 0066
  67. Page 0067
  68. Page 0068
  69. Page 0069
  70. Page 0070
  71. Page 0071
  72. Page 0072
  73. Page 0073
  74. Page 0074