Page 0043


ford, Mike Seaver, Julian Wightwick,

Landmark Avon Berks and Bucks Victor Milman, Nadia Stelmashenko, Paul Fegarty, Catherine Curtis, Jonathan

Promotions THE Avon County CONGRATULATIONS to

Mestel, Chris Jagger, Cath Jagger, Jon

Cooke) won the Garden Cities Regional

March 2011 – League season has

now concluded, so

Chris Burley – Ed Scerri

who won the Men’s Pairs

Final, and then finished 3rd in the

National Final. Chris Jagger, Julian Wight-

June 2011 congratulations to the and to Pat Dowdeswell

who won the Ladies’ Pairs

wick, Catherine Jagger and Jonathan

winners of the res- Mestel were 3rd in the Pachabo.

pective leagues, who in partnership with your

At the Spring Bank Holiday Congress,

are: League 1, Andrew, Cathy and Ralph editor Elena Jeronimidis, making one of

Chris Jagger finished 3rd in the Pairs A

Smith, and Steve Tomlinson; League 2, her rare but very welcome appearances

LANDMARK Gareth Evans, Myles Ellison, Marc Lee, at a BBCBA event. The Perkins Cup,

Final, which was also reached by Paul

Fegarty – Catherine Curtis and Joanne

PROMOTIONS Damian Nicholls, Richard Farrer and played as a multiple teams, was won by

Caldwell – Ian McDonald; Jon Cooke –

Bernard Mitchell; League 3, Sandra Mary Hughes, David Owen, Pat Dowdes-

Catherine Jagger were 3rd in the Teams.

well and Mike Ribbins. Richard Palmer

• There are currently four Cooper, Terry Butler, Mike Brady, Brian

Etheridge and Sheila Hodges. was the winner of the Victor Ludorum.

landmark promotions Congratulations to Sue O’Hara – The League of Four, played in people’s Channel Islands

(Master, Regional Master, Nelson Stephens for winning the Open houses, had four divisions; the winning

Life Master and Grand Swiss Pairs at the Welsh Seniors Congress. captains were: Div. 1. Mike Perkins;

Master). When you are In the NICKO, the team of Irene Div. 2, Pat Hamilton Brown; Div. 3, Rob IN April the Lambourne

Robinson, Mike Huggins, Aidan Wilkinson; Div. 4, Keith Sheppard – con- Jersey Festival of Bridge was

promoted to one of these

Schofield, Robert Covill and Jeremy gratulations to all of them. played. The top ranked CI

four levels, you receive a Rickard has reached the 6th round (last The League of Eight had a new pair in the Swiss pairs was

good-quality gift and free 16). In the NICKO Plate, the team of experimental structure this year, with Brian Youd – Sue Rankin

entry into the Ranked Gareth Evans, Marc Lee, Damian the lower divisions being divided into from Jersey, who finished 7th out of 56.

Masters pairs. Nicholls, Richard Farrer and Bernard geographical groups to reduce travel They also won the midweek champion-

Mitchell has also reached the last 16. times; the majority reported they ship pairs with Roz Bavin – David Hole

• All other promotions At the Schapiro Spring Foursomes held

in Stratford over the first May bank

preferred the new format, so it will be

retained for next season. The winners

from Jersey coming 2nd. The Mixed Pairs

was won by the Jersey pair of Marion

enter a four-monthly

holiday weekend, Robert Covill, David were: Div. 1, Reading A (despite New Miles – David Hole who won the Collins

Master Point draw with Amersham A winning all their matches, Trophy and the Fox Cup. The next highest

Jones, Aidan Schofield and Trevor Ward

three prizes – first prize is were part of the team that reached the Reading A were 1 VP ahead of them); CI pair was Ann Burnett – Howard

two nights Dinner, Bed & Punch Bowl final. Div. 2, Slough A; Div. 3A, Amersham CC Basden-Smith from Jersey who won the

Breakfast for two people Congratulations to David Jones for B; Div. 3B, Lane End A in a very tight CICBA prize for being the top CI pair

at a Barceló Hotel. reaching the final of the Welsh Cup (Welsh finish, tied on 122 VP with Bourne End apart from the winners.

National Knockout Teams). A but winning the head-to-head; Div. 4A, The Swiss Teams was the final event of

• The winner of the most In the Pachabo, the Avon represen-

tatives (Andrew, Cathy, and Ralph Smith,

Austenwood D; Div. 4B, Burnham D.

Bucks got their revenge for last year’s

the congress and the top CI team was

that of Robert Plumley, Susie Farnon,

black points in each affil-

and Steve Tomlinson) finished 8th. heavy defeat in the annual Berks v Bucks Mike Bane (all from Guernsey) with

iated club’s events enters Match winning all three matches. David Friswell from Jersey. They finished

The Avon consolation Knockout Plate

the new Annual Prize event has been won by Huw Oliver, Tony Congratulations to Christine Cook – 4th out of 27 teams.

Draw for the Club Gammon, Mike Letts and Andrew Gillian Smith who won the Friendly Pairs County Competitions: the final of the

Champions with a first Urbanski. for the Finchampstead Trophy, ahead of CI County Mixed Pairs was won by Susie

Hilda Hope – Joy Orford. Farnon – Robert Plumley with 2nd place

prize of £400.

We have a full house of 56 tables for going to Lynne Williamson – John Hibbs


• The annual local and

our Green Point Swiss Teams on June 26. all from Guernsey.

Jersey District results: the Open Pairs

national awards was won by Chris Hill – Jane Knight with

continue. AT the recent BBA Cambs and Hunts Howard Basden-Smith – Marion Miles

County AGM on May 12, 2nd. Guernsey District results: the final of

David Gilling was elected

as new Chairman, while JON Cooke reached the semi-finals of the Individual competition had joint win-

Christopher Parkin re - the Spring Foursomes in Stratford. ners of Anne Babbe and Martin Jones.

Congratulations mains as his deputy. Janet Cambridge (Rod Oakford, Sue Oak- The Teams final will be played between

to the newly promoted Marsh takes over as new Secretary with

Premier Grand Masters: new Committee members Derek Marsh

Mr JC Allerton, Surrey and Michael Collins. The EBU Sim Pairs

followed the meeting and trophy presen-

Mr PA Bowyer, Leicester tations, and winners with 64.6% were

Mr JW Hassett, Manchester David Dickson – Alan Oddie.

Mrs KA Penfold, Yorkshire The new BBA Committee met recently

and it was decided to form a ‘Com-

Congratulations to the newly petitions Sub-Committee’ under Derek

promoted Grand Masters: Marsh who is the new Competitions

Secretary. Colin O’Hara has been

Mrs JA Barnes, Berks & Bucks appointed as the new County Repre-

Ms J de Botton, Middx sentative to the Eastern Regional Club

Committee (of the EBU).

Mrs D Georgevic, Warwicks

For those who qualified, the Cham-

Mr RG Morton, London pions’ Trophy was held at Wilstead on the

Mr J Murrell, Sussex evening of June 9, and winners with

63.3% were Ron Davis – Alan Oddie;

Mr PAE Nicholls, Kent congratulations to them.

Mr KW Sowerbutts, Yorks The Bedford Congress takes place at

The Guides Centre in Milton Keynes

Photo: B&BCBA

Dr SP Tomlinson, Avon (opposite the National Badminton

Mr N Woodcock, Lancs Centre) over the September 10-11 Gillian Smith (left) and Christine Cook, winners

weekend. Entry forms available from the of the Berks and Bucks Friendly Pairs

BBA website. August 2011 English Bridge 43


  1. Page 0001
  2. Page 0002
  3. Page 0003
  4. Page 0004
  5. Page 0005
  6. Page 0006
  7. Page 0007
  8. Page 0008
  9. Page 0009
  10. Page 0010
  11. Page 0011
  12. Page 0012
  13. Page 0013
  14. Page 0014
  15. Page 0015
  16. Page 0016
  17. Page 0017
  18. Page 0018
  19. Page 0019
  20. Page 0020
  21. Page 0021
  22. Page 0022
  23. Page 0023
  24. Page 0024
  25. Page 0025
  26. Page 0026
  27. Page 0027
  28. Page 0028
  29. Page 0029
  30. Page 0030
  31. Page 0031
  32. Page 0032
  33. Page 0033
  34. Page 0034
  35. Page 0035
  36. Page 0036
  37. Page 0037
  38. Page 0038
  39. Page 0039
  40. Page 0040
  41. Page 0041
  42. Page 0042
  43. Page 0043
  44. Page 0044
  45. Page 0045
  46. Page 0046
  47. Page 0047
  48. Page 0048
  49. Page 0049
  50. Page 0050
  51. Page 0051
  52. Page 0052
  53. Page 0053
  54. Page 0054
  55. Page 0055
  56. Page 0056