West North East South
Pass 1t Pass 2®
Pass 2t Pass 2NT
Pass 3t Pass 3NT
Pass Pass Dble Redble
Game All. Dealer West.
´ A 8 7
™ 9 5
t K Q 9 8 7 3
® Q 3
´ 9 3 ´ K Q J 2
™ Q J 10 8 3 ™ 7 6 2
t 4 t A J 6 5 2
® J 10 9 8 2 ® 7
´ 10 6 5 4
™ A K 4
® A K 6 5 4
est led the t4. East won with the ace and
switched to the ´K. South won with
dummy's ace, cleared the diamonds and
made the redoubled contract for the loss of two
tricks in diamonds and two in spades.
After the hand had been played a discussion
ensued between the four players. Certain comments
have been printed in italics and numbered. You are
asked to classify them as A. a sensible observation,
B. an erroneous, ignorant or irrational observation,
or C. an observation, not in itself unreasonable, but
justified only through a knowledge of all four
THE POST MORTEM
East: Sorry for the double, partner, but (1) I think
you might have led the ™Q.
West: If you hadn't doubled, I should of course
have led a heart, (2) but since you had, I was
obliged to lead dummy's suit.
North: (3) Even if I've bid it three times?
West: Well, I believe in trusting my partner rather
than the opponents. I obey orders and if things go
wrong it's not my fault.
East: (4) I didn't regard my double as an order. It
merely expressed a belief that they couldn't make
the contract. Obviously to justify that belief, I
must hold some good diamonds, but not
necessarily good enough to want them led.
South: I'm inclined to agree. (5) If he wanted a
diamond lead, he would have doubled 3t. (6) A
heart lead doesn't break the contract, though.
East: (7) I'm not so sure. On the first heart trick, I
should drop the ™2. What would that have
conveyed to you, West?
West: (8) I should have regarded it as a Suit
Preference Signal, demanding a switch to clubs.
South: H'm. Must be a lot of clubs in this pack. (9)
Still, I suppose from West's point of view, my
club bid might have been psychic.
East: Might have been! (10) But if you haven't any
clubs and I am presumed to hold the rest of the
diamonds, it's odd that you've never bid spades.
North: (11) A club switch by West wouldn't be
bad, if South holds off the first heart.
South: Nice of you, North. My dummy play does
sometimes rise above text-book rules of thumb.
North: Sorry, old man. (12) But seriously, your
bidding wasn't exactly a text-book model.
South: (13) I admit the redouble was a bit flighty.
North: I wasn't referring to that. (14) It's your 3NT
bid I dislike.
West: (15) But look at his hand! He had four
honour tricks and a 5-card suit.
North (16) Maybe, but if he fancied his hand so
much, he should have bid 3NT directly over my
East: (17) Quite. Bidding the hand his way simply
invites a double if the hand is a misfit.
West: (18) I think North ought to have passed
2NT. (19) After all, he hasn't really got an
opening bid and he shouldn't rebid his hand.
70 English Bridge August 2018 www.ebu.co.uk
BLAST FROM THE PAST - November 1946
THE POST MORTEM