Page 0038

38 English Bridge October 2019 www.ebu.co.uk

I have had several similar questions recently. The

relevant law is Law 25A2. The TD has to decide

whether the call is a mechanical error or is due to a

loss of concentration.

I would talk to North (away from the table):

If North said 'I was confused, I thought partner bid

hearts and I was raising, but now I realise partner's

suit is spades' then North's 3™ is due to a loss of

concentration and I would not allow a change of

call.

If North said 'my fingers got the wrong bidding

card, I meant to bid 3´ as a pre-emptive raise of

partner's suit - I did not see what I had bid until

later' then I would allow the change because it was a

mechanical error. Partner has not yet called so the

attempt to change is in time; and East can change

their call.

Ask Robin Compiled by Robin Barker

click

link

Trouble at the table

R

ichard Budgen had an unusual situation at

a gentle duplicate session. I was called to

the table when dummy had two cards left

on the table, the other players all having three

cards in their hands. In trying to ascertain when a

fifth card had been played to a trick, it seemed to

me that it must have been the ´8, at the sixth trick.

I couldn't find a rule for this situation for

declarer/dummy but treated it similar to

defenders doing similar, Rule 45E. I gave the

decision that dummy could have revoked without

this card in his hand, therefore at the end of play

asked that one trick be transferred to the

defenders.

K

en Goddard writes: I have always

understood that once cards are removed

from the board it is a matter of law that

the players must be allowed to complete the hand.

Although I have seen references in The EBU

magazine etc confirming this I cannot find

anything in the law book. Is it a recommendation

rather than a law?

Law 45E does not apply - once the trick with

surplus cards is quitted we instead refer to Law 67,

in particular Law 67B2.

The surplus card from dummy's played cards is

deemed to have been in dummy from that trick

onwards. If dummy has revoked then there is no

automatic penalty (Law 64B3) but there can be an

adjusted score (Law 64C1). In practice, this means

that the TD should correct the revoke and work out

how many tricks would be made from that point. If

the defence get more tricks than they would have

done with the misplay by dummy, then that should

be the adjusted score.

The TD should not cancel a board because the table is

late, once the auction period has commenced. If the

table is told not to play the board before it is played,

the board is cancelled …

The auction period starts when players take their

cards from the board.

W N E S

Pass Pass 1™ 1´

Dble Stop3™ Dble D

avid Hughes asks: The bidding is

At this point South has a long pause while North

turns and takes a sip of water. On turning back to

the table North says 'Oh, I've made the wrong bid'.

South calls for the Director. Your ruling please and

the applicable laws.

This is an EBU regulation rather than law. The

White Book (2019) 8.81.4.1, final paragraph:

Please recycle

this magazine when you

have inished with it

Index

  1. Page 0001
  2. Page 0002
  3. Page 0003
  4. Page 0004
  5. Page 0005
  6. Page 0006
  7. Page 0007
  8. Page 0008
  9. Page 0009
  10. Page 0010
  11. Page 0011
  12. Page 0012
  13. Page 0013
  14. Page 0014
  15. Page 0015
  16. Page 0016
  17. Page 0017
  18. Page 0018
  19. Page 0019
  20. Page 0020
  21. Page 0021
  22. Page 0022
  23. Page 0023
  24. Page 0024
  25. Page 0025
  26. Page 0026
  27. Page 0027
  28. Page 0028
  29. Page 0029
  30. Page 0030
  31. Page 0031
  32. Page 0032
  33. Page 0033
  34. Page 0034
  35. Page 0035
  36. Page 0036
  37. Page 0037
  38. Page 0038
  39. Page 0039
  40. Page 0040
  41. Page 0041
  42. Page 0042
  43. Page 0043
  44. Page 0044
  45. Page 0045
  46. Page 0046
  47. Page 0047
  48. Page 0048
  49. Page 0049
  50. Page 0050
  51. Page 0051
  52. Page 0052
  53. Page 0053
  54. Page 0054
  55. Page 0055
  56. Page 0056
  57. Page 0057
  58. Page 0058
  59. Page 0059
  60. Page 0060
  61. Page 0061
  62. Page 0062
  63. Page 0063
  64. Page 0064
  65. Page 0065
  66. Page 0066
  67. Page 0067
  68. Page 0068
  69. Page 0069
  70. Page 0070
  71. Page 0071
  72. Page 0072
  73. Page 0073
  74. Page 0074
  75. Page 0075
  76. Page 0076