38 English Bridge October 2019 www.ebu.co.uk
I have had several similar questions recently. The
relevant law is Law 25A2. The TD has to decide
whether the call is a mechanical error or is due to a
loss of concentration.
I would talk to North (away from the table):
If North said 'I was confused, I thought partner bid
hearts and I was raising, but now I realise partner's
suit is spades' then North's 3™ is due to a loss of
concentration and I would not allow a change of
If North said 'my fingers got the wrong bidding
card, I meant to bid 3´ as a pre-emptive raise of
partner's suit - I did not see what I had bid until
later' then I would allow the change because it was a
mechanical error. Partner has not yet called so the
attempt to change is in time; and East can change
Ask Robin Compiled by Robin Barker
Trouble at the table
ichard Budgen had an unusual situation at
a gentle duplicate session. I was called to
the table when dummy had two cards left
on the table, the other players all having three
cards in their hands. In trying to ascertain when a
fifth card had been played to a trick, it seemed to
me that it must have been the ´8, at the sixth trick.
I couldn't find a rule for this situation for
declarer/dummy but treated it similar to
defenders doing similar, Rule 45E. I gave the
decision that dummy could have revoked without
this card in his hand, therefore at the end of play
asked that one trick be transferred to the
en Goddard writes: I have always
understood that once cards are removed
from the board it is a matter of law that
the players must be allowed to complete the hand.
Although I have seen references in The EBU
magazine etc confirming this I cannot find
anything in the law book. Is it a recommendation
rather than a law?
Law 45E does not apply - once the trick with
surplus cards is quitted we instead refer to Law 67,
in particular Law 67B2.
The surplus card from dummy's played cards is
deemed to have been in dummy from that trick
onwards. If dummy has revoked then there is no
automatic penalty (Law 64B3) but there can be an
adjusted score (Law 64C1). In practice, this means
that the TD should correct the revoke and work out
how many tricks would be made from that point. If
the defence get more tricks than they would have
done with the misplay by dummy, then that should
be the adjusted score.
The TD should not cancel a board because the table is
late, once the auction period has commenced. If the
table is told not to play the board before it is played,
the board is cancelled …
The auction period starts when players take their
cards from the board.
W N E S
Pass Pass 1™ 1´
Dble Stop3™ Dble D
avid Hughes asks: The bidding is
At this point South has a long pause while North
turns and takes a sip of water. On turning back to
the table North says 'Oh, I've made the wrong bid'.
South calls for the Director. Your ruling please and
the applicable laws.
This is an EBU regulation rather than law. The
White Book (2019) 184.108.40.206, final paragraph:
this magazine when you
have inished with it