October 2019 English Bridge
Most of the EBU scoring 'infrastructure' does not
distinguish which ways players sit within a pair:
EBUScore cannot record this information, and the
uploads to EBU only work with pairs. However, the
Pianola and Bridgewebs websites do make
assumptions about where players move when they
change direction, based on the movement. Any
instructions we give to players aim to match these
There is a difference between 'scrambled' (arrowswitched)
movements, where the boards change
orientation; and Howell movements where the
boards retain their orientation and the players sit
For scrambled movements: East becomes North,
and North becomes West, and so on in rotation.
For Howell movements: East and North swap,
and South and West swap.
But what is standard in one country is different in
another and scoring systems from other countries
do make different assumptions.
osella Emanuel asks for advice on a 2®
response to a 1NT opening bid,
unannounced by opener. When the hand
goes down without a major the opposition feel
damaged by their opening lead! Should the
opposition have asked the question before leading
and can the auction be taken back? Does 2® have
to be announced whether promissory or nonpromissory?
obin has been asked by various clubs about
which compass direction players should sit
when the movement changes the pair from
North/South to East/West and vice versa - and
how this is reflected in the scoring systems.
obin Barker is email@example.com Chief
Tournament Director. Please email
him - firstname.lastname@example.org.
The author, English Bridge and the EBU are
not responsible if the information provided is
incorrect or incomplete.
If 2® is Stayman it should be announced as
'Stayman' regardless of whether it is promissory or
not. If 2® is announced as 'Stayman' you can ask
(during the auction or before the opening lead)
whether it is promissory.
If 2® is not announced at all then you should ask
- it is likely that they have forgotten to
ome correspondence on alerting: North
opens 3t. East doubles for takeout. South
passes and West also passes holding some
points and good diamonds. The contract goes five
down. At the end South states that when West
passes East has to alert this. East/West did not
understand: having passed the take-out double, to
say that the Pass is for penalties would be stating
South stated that this was one of the new rules
and that it was one which her other club had been
employing. Please advise.
There is no new rule that requires an alert of a pass
of a takeout double - the pass must be for penalties
because the auction will end with opener's pass. A
pass is only alerted if it has an unexpected meaning.
The only 'new' rule is that penalty doubles have to
be alerted - that rule was new in 2006.
he correspondence continues: A query re
your statement that penalty doubles have
to be alerted. Does this mean all penalty
doubles? For example:
Does South have to alert this double or is it only
lower level doubles? Surely the double can only be
construed as a penalty double so what is the logic
behind the alert?
Yes. Alert all doubles that are not take-out of natural
suit bids below 3NT. This includes penalty doubles.
There are other meanings of the double in your
example: some partnerships would play the double
as invitational to 4´, with a direct 3´ bid as
competitive. This meaning of double would also be
alerted as it is not 'take-out' in a way the opponents
W N E S
1™ 1´ 2™ 2´