Page 0039

39

October 2019 English Bridge

www.ebu.co.uk

Most of the EBU scoring 'infrastructure' does not

distinguish which ways players sit within a pair:

EBUScore cannot record this information, and the

uploads to EBU only work with pairs. However, the

Pianola and Bridgewebs websites do make

assumptions about where players move when they

change direction, based on the movement. Any

instructions we give to players aim to match these

assumptions.

There is a difference between 'scrambled' (arrowswitched)

movements, where the boards change

orientation; and Howell movements where the

boards retain their orientation and the players sit

differently.

For scrambled movements: East becomes North,

and North becomes West, and so on in rotation.

For Howell movements: East and North swap,

and South and West swap.

But what is standard in one country is different in

another and scoring systems from other countries

do make different assumptions.

R

osella Emanuel asks for advice on a 2®

response to a 1NT opening bid,

unannounced by opener. When the hand

goes down without a major the opposition feel

damaged by their opening lead! Should the

opposition have asked the question before leading

and can the auction be taken back? Does 2® have

to be announced whether promissory or nonpromissory?

R

obin has been asked by various clubs about

which compass direction players should sit

when the movement changes the pair from

North/South to East/West and vice versa - and

how this is reflected in the scoring systems.

R

obin Barker is robin@ebu.co.ukeputy Chief

Tournament Director. Please email

him - robin@ebu.co.uk.

The author, English Bridge and the EBU are

not responsible if the information provided is

incorrect or incomplete.

If 2® is Stayman it should be announced as

'Stayman' regardless of whether it is promissory or

not. If 2® is announced as 'Stayman' you can ask

(during the auction or before the opening lead)

whether it is promissory.

If 2® is not announced at all then you should ask

- it is likely that they have forgotten to

announce/alert.

S

ome correspondence on alerting: North

opens 3t. East doubles for takeout. South

passes and West also passes holding some

points and good diamonds. The contract goes five

down. At the end South states that when West

passes East has to alert this. East/West did not

understand: having passed the take-out double, to

say that the Pass is for penalties would be stating

the obvious.

South stated that this was one of the new rules

and that it was one which her other club had been

employing. Please advise.

There is no new rule that requires an alert of a pass

of a takeout double - the pass must be for penalties

because the auction will end with opener's pass. A

pass is only alerted if it has an unexpected meaning.

The only 'new' rule is that penalty doubles have to

be alerted - that rule was new in 2006.

T

he correspondence continues: A query re

your statement that penalty doubles have

to be alerted. Does this mean all penalty

doubles? For example:

Does South have to alert this double or is it only

lower level doubles? Surely the double can only be

construed as a penalty double so what is the logic

behind the alert?

Yes. Alert all doubles that are not take-out of natural

suit bids below 3NT. This includes penalty doubles.

There are other meanings of the double in your

example: some partnerships would play the double

as invitational to 4´, with a direct 3´ bid as

competitive. This meaning of double would also be

alerted as it is not 'take-out' in a way the opponents

would expect.

W N E S

1™ 1´ 2™ 2´

3™ Dble

Index

  1. Page 0001
  2. Page 0002
  3. Page 0003
  4. Page 0004
  5. Page 0005
  6. Page 0006
  7. Page 0007
  8. Page 0008
  9. Page 0009
  10. Page 0010
  11. Page 0011
  12. Page 0012
  13. Page 0013
  14. Page 0014
  15. Page 0015
  16. Page 0016
  17. Page 0017
  18. Page 0018
  19. Page 0019
  20. Page 0020
  21. Page 0021
  22. Page 0022
  23. Page 0023
  24. Page 0024
  25. Page 0025
  26. Page 0026
  27. Page 0027
  28. Page 0028
  29. Page 0029
  30. Page 0030
  31. Page 0031
  32. Page 0032
  33. Page 0033
  34. Page 0034
  35. Page 0035
  36. Page 0036
  37. Page 0037
  38. Page 0038
  39. Page 0039
  40. Page 0040
  41. Page 0041
  42. Page 0042
  43. Page 0043
  44. Page 0044
  45. Page 0045
  46. Page 0046
  47. Page 0047
  48. Page 0048
  49. Page 0049
  50. Page 0050
  51. Page 0051
  52. Page 0052
  53. Page 0053
  54. Page 0054
  55. Page 0055
  56. Page 0056
  57. Page 0057
  58. Page 0058
  59. Page 0059
  60. Page 0060
  61. Page 0061
  62. Page 0062
  63. Page 0063
  64. Page 0064
  65. Page 0065
  66. Page 0066
  67. Page 0067
  68. Page 0068
  69. Page 0069
  70. Page 0070
  71. Page 0071
  72. Page 0072
  73. Page 0073
  74. Page 0074
  75. Page 0075
  76. Page 0076