Page 0054

JUNE_10_EB_p47-54 County News:D 36-48 06/05/2010 17:38 Page 54

League the county are now entering a B Pearce, Nick Forward, Steve Allerston, Pairs. At the EBU’s Buxton Easter

Master Point and C team for 2010. Ross Garratt, Mel Downing). Chairman’s Festival, Pauline Cooper – Richard Hilton

promotions Diary Dates: Westmorland’s first

green-pointed event, the Open Swiss

Cup: Diana MacMasters – Pauline Perry.

Veteran Pairs: Jessie Newton – John

won the Swiss Pairs; Rod Hose – John

Edwards were 2nd. At the EBU’s London

Pairs, will take place on Sept 26 at Turner. Phillips: Dick & Jane Rutter. Easter Festival, juniors Tom Copeland –

3 Star Premier 7 Star Premier Stonecross Manor Hotel, Kendal. Con- Championship Pairs: Richard Jephcott – Tom Rainforth were 2nd in the Open

Regional Master Master tact John Ellwood competitions@ wcdba. John Sansom. Congratulations to all of Pairs. A team from Lawnswood School,

Mr C Clements Mr G Nixon the above. Leeds (Joseph Cresswell, Simon Furse,

4 Star Regional Nationally, Dick Rutter – Dennis Rhys Munden, Matthew Poulter) won

5 Star Premier

Master Loynes won the Men’s Pairs and Sue the Schools Plate at the national Young

Mrs TKH Attwater

Master Wiltshire Evans – Marian Wilcox the Ladies’ Pairs Bridge Challenge event.

Dr A Cooke

Tournament at the Madeira Congress. Mike Theelke – The following have been successful in

Master Premier Master Graeme Weir won the open pairs at the county events and club congresses: York-

THE highlight of

Mrs E Wilson Mr G Bak recent weeks was the Harrogate Congress. shire Golf Clubs Competition: Catterick

5 Star Master 4 Star annual Wiltshire & Finally, many congratulations to Liz (S. Mckellar, A. Abrahams, S. Hird,

Mr T Ashbourne Tournament Avon Green-pointed Weekend at Bath Uni- Boyes who, on March 7, succeeded in A. Sayer). YCBA Mixed Pivot Teams: Sue

4 Star Master versity. Entries were high with 60 teams becoming a Professional English Bridge Logan, Tony McNiff, Bill Townsend,


Mrs SM Gwyer and 110 pairs attending for the two Union Accredited Teacher. Liz is the 71st David Fletcher. Peter Littlewood Seniors’

Mr DP Brown EBU Professional status teacher in the Pairs: Chris Quigley – Barbara Boaler.

3 Star Master events. The leading Wiltshire team, in 7th

2 Star place, was Keith Williamson, Pat Davies, country and the only such teacher in YCBA Seniors’ Knock-out Teams: Graham

Mrs E Just

Tournament Keith and Johnny Sharp. Wiltshire pairs Worcestershire. Jepson, David Musson, Sandy Davies,


Master faired better with Richard Samter – Tom Gisborne. West Yorkshire Open

Mrs L Bennett

Swiss Teams: Stuart Davies, George Bak,

Area Master Mrs J Coombes Norman Botton 2nd, and Valerie Yorkshire David Robinson, Tony McNiff.

Mr M Cripp 1 Star Austwick – James Dunlop 5th.

The Premier League started the final Scarborough Congress: Championship

Mrs MS Turner Tournament

session with the top two teams tied. In the CONGRATULATIONS to Pairs (joint): Jim Proctor – Roger Taylor

Local Master Master the York A team, champions and Joyce North – Bernard Swalwell;

Mr T Allen

end Latchem ran out victors with 153

Mrs J Anderton VPs ahead of Blandy on 148 VPs. of the Yorkshire League for Swiss Teams: Annette and Mike Jackson,

Worcester 2009-10. In a dramatic final Janet and Philip Mason.

5 Star Master The new Allcomers League was com-

1 Star Premier pleted with two teams, Portnall and match, nearest challengers Bradford and Diary Dates: June 13, Castle Swiss

Mrs FA Jeal

Regional Master Gwyer, sharing top spot. There is a query Sheffield fought out a 10-10 draw, Pairs, Huddersfield. June 16, Affiliated

Mr RC Rutter 4 Star Master leaving York ahead by just 3 VPs. Ilkley A Clubs Teams, Tickton. June 17, John

in front of the county’s Tournament

Mrs JM Rutter Mrs J Cochrane in Div. 3 and Harrogate C in Div. 7 were Gerrard Sim Pairs. June 18, YCBA

Committee which will decide the final

10 Star Premier 3 Star Master outcome. Baum were 3rd. the only teams to win all their matches. Annual General Meeting, Doncaster.

Master Mr R Andrews In the KO Cup, Bennett will play In national events, Les Brown – Karen June 20, Malton Swiss Teams, New

Mr DD Clarke Hodgson in the final. Bradley won the EBU’s Northern Pairs. Earswick. June 27, Flitch, Harrogate.

Mr S Kelly

3 Star Master The WCBA committee is welcoming At the Harrogate Spring Congress, June 27, Yorkshire Schools Cup,

Mrs R Ritchie Richard Pike – David Robinson were on Leeds. July 4, Waddington Cup Final,

Mr DA McClelland new members with the news that further

2 Star Master the winning team in the Swiss Teams. Ian York. July 11, Newcomers Pivot Teams,

1 Star Master events are planned for next season spe-

Mrs J Gleeson cifically aimed at non-expert players and Julie Grant were 2nd in the Swiss Doncaster. r

Mr M Bunegar

Master Mrs J M Pember supplementing the regular, tried and

Ms H Collier Advanced Master tested, Championship events.

District Master Mrs N Green

Mr SD Batten Mr AE Jagger Worcestershire

Mr D Waide Mr PJ

Mrs Y Waide



Mr RM Greenwood Master Alan Boyes, who recently

Mrs RS Panton Mrs B Fawcett

received the Ron Allen

Yorkshire County Master Award. This award is given

National Master Mrs SL Hoyle to those who help with

Mrs PA Coggrave Ms J Murray bridge within the Worcestershire clubs.

Mr CS Coggrave Mr A Watson Alan has been Chairman at Pershore

Mrs JP Powell Mrs J Wood

Bridge Club for the past ten years and

Mrs M Tebb thoroughly deserves this for the time and

District Master energy he has put back into the game.

6 Star Premier

Regional Master Mr J Bunch Spring has seen a number of the

Mr M Marston Mrs JM Castle Worcestershire competitions finish, with

3 Star Premier Mr TD Fenton the following winners: Club Champion-

Regional Master Mr DF Hoult ship Pairs: Ian and Georgina Lineker

Mrs SM Goodyear Mrs CM Powne

(Stourbridge). Closed Teams: Sue Page,

2 Star Premier

Ian Thompson, John Turner, Mike

Mr PCB Skuse

Willoughby, Simon Harrison, Pete

Photo: Doug Stainton

Regional Master Ms D Thorp

Mr M Armitage

Edwards. The Grand Prix Teams saw two

Mrs T Pearce

Area Master teams tied for first place: Three Retirees

& A Worker and Black Pears. Ron Allen Nick Forward, Worcestershire CBA Chairman (on the left),

Premier Regional Mrs MK Cooper presents Alan Boyes with the Ron Allen Award

Mr J Footman Trophy: Worcester A (Jimmy Ledger,


David Thomas, John Sansom, Pam

Mr AP Kalverda Mr J Guest

7 Star Regional Mr M Stephens

Master Club Master

Mr A Jones

3 Star Regional

Mrs GM Arnold JUNE 21 is the closing date for the submission

Mr GR Newsome


Ms JM Jackson

Miss K Thorpe

of county reports for the next issue of

19 Star Premier Local Master

Mr SW Hirst

English Bridge.


Mr M Porter Mr RJ Sykes Please e-mail:

54 English Bridge June 2007


  1. Number 229
  2. Page 0002
  3. Page 0003
  4. Page 0004
  5. Page 0005
  6. Page 0006
  7. Page 0007
  8. Page 0008
  9. Page 0009
  10. Page 0010
  11. Page 0011
  12. Page 0012
  13. Page 0013
  14. Page 0014
  15. Page 0015
  16. Page 0016
  17. Page 0017
  18. Page 0018
  19. Page 0019
  20. Page 0020
  21. Page 0021
  22. Page 0022
  23. Page 0023
  24. Page 0024
  25. Page 0025
  26. Page 0026
  27. Page 0027
  28. Page 0028
  29. Page 0029
  30. Page 0030
  31. Page 0031
  32. Page 0032
  33. Page 0033
  34. Page 0034
  35. Page 0035
  36. Page 0036
  37. Page 0037
  38. Page 0038
  39. Page 0039
  40. Page 0040
  41. Page 0041
  42. Page 0042
  43. Page 0043
  44. Page 0044
  45. Page 0045
  46. Page 0046
  47. Page 0047
  48. Page 0048
  49. Page 0049
  50. Page 0050
  51. Page 0051
  52. Page 0052
  53. Page 0053
  54. Page 0054
  55. Page 0055
  56. Page 0056