Page 0026

IN the previous two articles I have looked at

examples of the hoary adage 'cover-an-honourwith-an-honour'.

The idea is to prevent declarer

making tricks to which he is not entitled.

Now the last article contained examples where

dummy was on your left, playing after you. This

article has the closed hand on your left, with

dummy leading through you. The question remains

the same, though. Should you (or should you not)

cover an honour with one of yours?

Let's do this by example. Here are six of the best.

In each case declarer, South, leads a spade honour

from the table and you, sitting over dummy, have to

decide what to do.

Layout 1 ´ J 6 2

´ Q 9 7

South, playing in 3NT, leads the ´J from the

dummy. Do you cover with the ´Q? Why (or why

not)?

Answer: Yes, you must cover with the ´Q. West may

have the ´K or the ´10 or even the ´A all of which

would bring the ´9 into the game if you play the

´Q. If South were to hold ´A-K-10-x then all is lost

whatever you do.

Layout 2 ´ J 10 9

´ Q 8 7

South, playing in 3NT, leads the ´J from the

dummy. Do you cover with the ´Q? Why (or why

not)?

Answer: No, don't cover. There is no point in

covering sequences as there can be nothing to

promote in partner's hand. If West has the ´K he

will make it anyway.

Layout 3 ´ 10 8 3

´ Q 6

South, playing in 3NT, leads the ´10 from the

dummy. Do you cover with the ´Q? Why (or why

not)?

Answer: Yes, cover with the ´Q. There are all sorts

of layouts where covering is right: West might have

´K-9-x or even ´9-x-x-x. If declarer were to hold

´A-K-J-9 then all is lost whatever you do.

Many players fail to recognise that a Ten counts as

an honour under the meaning of the act. It does.

Layout 4 ´ Q J 9 4

´ K 6 3

South, playing in 3NT, leads the ´Q from the

dummy. Do you cover with the ´K? Why (or why

not)?

Answer: No, don't cover. It is usually wrong to cover

the top of touching honours. If the ´Q wins the

trick and the ´J is led next, cover that. If you were to

cover the first spade declarer may make four tricks

with an original holding of ´A-x-x by finessing

against your partner's ´10-x-x. If you hold back

your king for a round, you must make a trick for

your side. Of course, if partner doesn't have the ´10

then all is lost anyway, but playing the ´K on the

first lead would gain you nothing.

26 English Bridge August 2015 www.ebu.co.uk

Cover an Honour Quiz by Paul Bowyer

Basic Cardplay

Basic Cardplay

click

link

N

W E

S

N

W E

S

N

W E

S

N

W E

S

The Judicial Review into Sport England's refusal to recognise bridge as a sport is scheduled for

Sept ember 22-23. A summary of the arguments for a reversal of their position can be seen in the

EBU Press Release online. Links to some of the media coverage are also available from the website.

Index

  1. Page 0001
  2. Page 0002
  3. Page 0003
  4. Page 0004
  5. Page 0005
  6. Page 0006
  7. Page 0007
  8. Page 0008
  9. Page 0009
  10. Page 0010
  11. Page 0011
  12. Page 0012
  13. Page 0013
  14. Page 0014
  15. Page 0015
  16. Page 0016
  17. Page 0017
  18. Page 0018
  19. Page 0019
  20. Page 0020
  21. Page 0021
  22. Page 0022
  23. Page 0023
  24. Page 0024
  25. Page 0025
  26. Page 0026
  27. Page 0027
  28. Page 0028
  29. Page 0029
  30. Page 0030
  31. Page 0031
  32. Page 0032
  33. Page 0033
  34. Page 0034
  35. Page 0035
  36. Page 0036
  37. Page 0037
  38. Page 0038
  39. Page 0039
  40. Page 0040
  41. Page 0041
  42. Page 0042
  43. Page 0043
  44. Page 0044
  45. Page 0045
  46. Page 0046
  47. Page 0047
  48. Page 0048
  49. Page 0049
  50. Page 0050
  51. Page 0051
  52. Page 0052
  53. Page 0053
  54. Page 0054
  55. Page 0055
  56. Page 0056
  57. Page 0057
  58. Page 0058
  59. Page 0059
  60. Page 0060
  61. Page 0061
  62. Page 0062
  63. Page 0063
  64. Page 0064
  65. Page 0065
  66. Page 0066
  67. Page 0067
  68. Page 0068
  69. Page 0069
  70. Page 0070
  71. Page 0071
  72. Page 0072
  73. Page 0073
  74. Page 0074