36 English Bridge August 2017 www.ebu.co.uk
First, play should stop when a claim is made and
the director called if it is doubted. The director
'adjudicates the result of the board as equitably as
possible to both sides, but any doubtful point as to
a claim shall be resolved against the claimer.'
Obviously if the player has made a clear claim
statement as required, there will be fewer doubtful
points. So, no, the opponents don't get to dictate the
play but the director will normally impose the least
advantageous of all normal lines on declarer,
providing they are consistent with any claim
statement there may have been.
When the new laws come into force on 1 August,
there will be the possibility, if all four players agree,
for them to play on and forgo any right to have the
director adjudicate on this.
Ask Gordon by Gordon Rainsford
It is true that Law 64 says:
64B. No Rectification
There is no rectification as in A following an
6. if it is a revoke on the twelfth trick.
However this does not mean you are allowed to
revoke: Law 64C arranges for any damage caused by
such a revoke to be adjusted:
64C. Director Responsible for Equity
When, after any established revoke, including those
not subject to rectification, the Director deems that
the non-offending side is insufficiently compensated
by this Law for the damage caused, he shall assign
an adjusted score.
And furthermore Law 72 specifically prohibits
deliberately infringing a law:
72B. Infraction of Law
1. A player must not infringe a law intentionally, even
if there is a prescribed rectification he is willing to
So it would be possible, although unusual, to issue a
player with a penalty for deliberately revoking.
ichael Cox asked, 'I have been told
unofficially that a player can revoke on
the penultimate round without penalty.
Is this true?'
enjy Hackenbroch wrote, 'Declarer claims
either the remainder of the tricks, or
concedes trick(s) and claims the remainder.
Declarer does not state how he is going to play.
The claim is contested. Does either defender have
the right to dictate the play?
'Say the situation is as stated above, but this
time declarer does state how he is going to play.
Does this make a difference?'
une Williams asked, 'Should my partner have
called the director? With N/S vulnerable and
North dealer the bidding was:
'As soon as I bid 3™ my partner (North) said she
should call the director because she had paused a
long time before making her second call and
therefore I should not have bid. The director ruled
that my bid was legitimate and 3™ was the final
West North East South
Pass 1t 1™
2t Pass 3t 3™
It's good to see someone suggesting proactively
calling the director, since they are there to deal with
irregularities and it often helps matters to involve
them early on. However, in this instance it would
probably be enough to acknowledge the hesitation
so that the opponents could later call the director if
they felt concerned about it.
Claims, revokes and hesitations
powered by PageTiger