Page 0079


August 2017 English Bridge

Myers, Denise Barham-Hall) scoring 87 VPs from Wearside

BC (Pat Barton, John Moor, Graham Cox, Alleyn Erskine). In

third place on 85 VPs was Brunton BC (David Gold, Irene

Sharff, Inga Aiston, Neil Aiston).

Another close result in the Club Champion Pairs in May

saw success go to the Hurworth BC pair of Nigel Durie &

David Turner. In second place were Frank Springett & Brenda

Osborne (Newcastle BC) with third place going to Mary Page

and Aileen Cunningham (Cramlington BC). The John Clarke

Salver (awarded for the best aggregate performance over the

Champion Pairs, Champion Teams and Inter-Club League)

was won by only two points by Brunton BC (134 pts).

Hurworth BC were second (132 pts) and Morpeth BC were

third (127 pts). Congratulations go to all successful players.


JIM Deacon & Trevor Thrower finished 24th in the Corwen

Trophy. Mike Trask & Mark Tilley finished 50th out of a field

of 100 pairs in the EBU national competition.

Diary dates: Blue Pointed Swiss Pairs on 19th August at

Stamford Bridge Club


THE following players represented Nottingham recently:

Keith Rodgers & Lloyd Eagling in the Corwen; Irene &

John Auld together with Bill Whalley & Pravin Taylor in the

Pachabo. It was an exciting event with the team lying 3rd

after the first round and still playing for everything lying 10th

with just 15 boards of 75 left. Finally finishing 20th, a good

effort all around.

The Fight for Sight Charity event at Nottingham Bridge

Club in memory of bridge legend Dinah Mairs raised £580.

Thanks to so many for supporting this event.

Nottinghamshire Contract Bridge Association (together

with Derbys and Leics CBAs) hosts its two day green pointed

event soon. event - easy access at

the East Midlands Bridge Centre, Spondon, DE217JR - just

five miles off J25 M1. Swiss Pairs (22 July ) 1pm. 7 x 7 boards

matches. Swiss Teams (23 July ) 12 noon. 7 x 7 board matches

For information and entry form contact Graham at


Kathy & Denis Talbot won both the Mid-Week Pairs

Championship and the Pre-Congress Pairs at the EBU Jersey

Lambourne Festival. They were 4th in the Seniors' Multiple


Congratulations to Ed Jones' team on winning the

National Swiss Teams. Ed also had a successful EBU London

Easter Festival with 2nd place in the Swiss Pairs A Flight, and

3rd in the Championship Pairs.

At the EBU Spring Bank Holiday Congress, Ed Jones came

5th in the Championship Pairs A Final and Lorna Swadling &

Alastair Gidman were 4th in the B Final. In the Swiss Pairs,

Rita Todd & Liza Furnival came 2nd.

Congratulations to Aleksandar Lishkov's team on winning

the Swiss Teams at the Shropshire Congress.

Diana Nettleton had a successful Cheltenham Congress.

She won the Mixed Pairs, came 2nd in the Swiss Pairs with

Beryl Kerr, and was 4th in the Swiss Teams, playing with

Matthew Covill, Sandra Nicholson & Krys Kazmierczak.

David Flower & David Stead were 5th at the

Northamptonshire Swiss Pairs.

At the Avon Swiss Teams, Sandra Nicholson & Krys

Kazmierczak's team came 3rd.

At the Yorkshire Congress, Henry Rose, Helen Rose, &

Aleksandar Lishkov's team qualified for the main Swiss

Teams' final, finishing in 2nd place. Mary-Ann Sheehy &

Diana Nettleton's team qualified for the Scarborough Trophy

and came 3rd.

Oxford A won the Wessex League Division 1; Oxford B,

Division 2; Aylesbury B, Division 3; Wallingford C, Division

4; Bicester B, Division 5.

Debbie Roberts & Geoff Nicholas won the OBA Mixed

Pairs with Emily Middleton & Nick Smith in 2nd place.

Ian Angus, Aleksandar Lishkov, Mary-Ann Sheehy &

Christopher Whitehouse won the OBA President's Cup.

The OBA Sadler Seniors' Salver was won by Angela Adams

& Mike Wenble.

Nick Smith won the OBA Premiership ladder.

Bedfordshire's Iain Roberts, Alan Oddie, Brian Keable &

Ron Davis won the Beck Cup.

North-South Winners at the Henley Café Bridge were

Richard Brodie & Michael Allen, and East-West winners were

Peter Bowles & Ian Hodkinson.

The OBA Oxford Festival of Bridge is taking place from 47

Sep 2017. Further information is on the OBA website.


THE Individual Percentage Final played in early May was won

by Gillian Toogood with Les Botting second.

The final results of the Pairs League were:

Division 1: David Howard and Roger Sweet

Division 2: =1st Wendy Miller & Mike Smith and Martin

Holcombe & Michael Powell

Division 3: Joan Pooley & Nigel Hamlyn

Division 4: John Staite & Katrina Foote

In the Western League match played against Avon in midMay,

A team won 14/6, B lost 8/12 and C won 11/9. Somerset

won the A division by one VP ahead of Dorset and qualify to

play at Coventry in July against the winners of the other

national leagues.

The County League has also been finalised with the

winners of the first division being Taunton (Roger Sweet,

Sheila Coda, Alan and Jette Bailey, Colin Flood and Rob

Lawy). The second division was won by Langport (Alan

Atkinson, Simon Brooke, John Staite, Joan Pooley and Chris

Hamilton). The third division won by Wilton (Anne Harris,

Tony Morgan, Brian Tustian, Olga Belding, Helen Lilly.

Sandra Cavaciuti and Lesley Garner).

Diary dates: 29 Sep-1 Oct, West of England Congress, Weston

Super Mare. Full details and online entry forms are available

on the SCBA website.


  1. Page 0001
  2. Page 0002
  3. Page 0003
  4. Page 0004
  5. Page 0005
  6. Page 0006
  7. Page 0007
  8. Page 0008
  9. Page 0009
  10. Page 0010
  11. Page 0011
  12. Page 0012
  13. Page 0013
  14. Page 0014
  15. Page 0015
  16. Page 0016
  17. Page 0017
  18. Page 0018
  19. Page 0019
  20. Page 0020
  21. Page 0021
  22. Page 0022
  23. Page 0023
  24. Page 0024
  25. Page 0025
  26. Page 0026
  27. Page 0027
  28. Page 0028
  29. Page 0029
  30. Page 0030
  31. Page 0031
  32. Page 0032
  33. Page 0033
  34. Page 0034
  35. Page 0035
  36. Page 0036
  37. Page 0037
  38. Page 0038
  39. Page 0039
  40. Page 0040
  41. Page 0041
  42. Page 0042
  43. Page 0043
  44. Page 0044
  45. Page 0045
  46. Page 0046
  47. Page 0047
  48. Page 0048
  49. Page 0049
  50. Page 0050
  51. Page 0051
  52. Page 0052
  53. Page 0053
  54. Page 0054
  55. Page 0055
  56. Page 0056
  57. Page 0057
  58. Page 0058
  59. Page 0059
  60. Page 0060
  61. Page 0061
  62. Page 0062
  63. Page 0063
  64. Page 0064
  65. Page 0065
  66. Page 0066
  67. Page 0067
  68. Page 0068
  69. Page 0069
  70. Page 0070
  71. Page 0071
  72. Page 0072
  73. Page 0073
  74. Page 0074
  75. Page 0075
  76. Page 0076
  77. Page 0077
  78. Page 0078
  79. Page 0079
  80. Page 0080
  81. Page 0081
  82. Page 0082

powered by PageTiger